Is This The End?

So did you think it was all over?  That I would just leave you hanging with no resolution?  No happy ending?  No crescendo-ing orchestral soundtrack in which to ride off into the sunset?

If there is anything I have learned in the last few months, it’s that the adventure is NEVER over and NEVER the same.

I am home.  In Montreal.  Sleeping in my bed.  Taking hot showers.   I am writing from a hipster cafe with Wi-Fi where every other person is connected and glued to their laptops.  I am NOT scribbling away in a journal, with my feet in the sand, salt in my hair and freedom in my heart.  And I’m trying to be okay with this.

Culture shock is a very real phenomenon.  I sort of feel like a puzzle piece with one little pokey-outey-thing missing.  Most of it fits, but not quite.  I never was much of an IPod person, preferring to be connected and aware of my surroundings, but now I don’t go anywhere without those little white buds stuffed deep into my ears, pumping Spanish Reggaton into my overworked eardrums because life here is just too noisy…too overwhelming.  Where are the horse-drawn carts, the toothless smiles peddling mangoes and avocados, the silent heat of the midday sun?  At least with the groovy beats of my Central American soundtrack playing, I can almost smell the sea.

I am broker than I have ever been in my life, ten-thousand dollars in debt and I am struggling to put together a living.  I don’t want to get a full-time job because yoga is where I want to be.   So I am trying to piece-meal together a living out of odd jobs.  And when I say “odd-jobs”,  I do mean ODD.

For example, last Thursday, I worked at a Hasidic Jewish printing shop collating and stapling pamphlets.  I got lost in the repetition and felt like I deserved a gold Star of David each time I picked out exactly the right number of sheets, starting with a cover page that said “Who Is A Good Wife?–A Talk on Integrating by Rabbi Katz.”  Today I applied to be a “Dog Washer”, stating in my reply that I think I would make the perfect candidate for the job because “I have a very hairy border collie who likes to roll in mud puddles and accumulate dread-locks.”  I am thinking of starting another blog:  One Hundred Days of Craigslist.  One hundred days where I respond to an ad from EVERY category.  What do you think??  I’m a little nervous about the “haiku” section and let’s not talk about the personals….

The man I was dating before I left on my four-month adventure, who was perfectly wonderful, fun, easy, spontaneous and all the rest has told me that he has no interest in continuing our relationship so I find myself slightly wounded and cynical again, and really starting to crave a person, you know?

However, my new roommate and I have this lovely domestic relationship that suits me just fine.  He is gay, a lawyer and doesn’t get squirmy when I talk about my period.  I told him that since I have no money, but loads of time, and he has the opposite, that I would make a perfect little house-wife and make sure that there is dinner on the table, or food for him to bring to work if he buys the groceries.  We make each other dinners, cocktails, and last Sunday, spent the day gardening, preparing for summer and turning the basement into a 70’s style hippie-den, making trips to Home Depot, engaged in all things nest-like and homey.  (That is to say, now there is a couch down there, a hammock, twinkly lights and paper lanters and it is the space where he goes to practice his accordion.)

I am teaching my practice classes, twice a week, at the studio.  I am trying to find my voice.  My confidence.  The knowledge within me that I DO have the power to inspire, educate, and challenge my students.  It’s coming.  Slowly, it’s coming.

But the thing that is bugging me the most is how quickly I revert to my old ways.  When I was there, when I was away, I was SO happy.  SO free.  It seemed like I was fundamentally altered.   I was a person that I genuinely liked…for the first time in well,  a while.  And now, not even two weeks back, and already the shit-storm of self-doubt, anxiety, and over-analyzing is whirlwinding around in my brain.  I am stressed about money, finding work, my health, my big butt, being a good yoga teacher and a good person.  I growled at my dog yesterday.  Growled at her like a dog.  Pinned her to the ground like a dog.  And then proceeded to cry into her neck on my hands and knees like a crazy person.

Where is that person that I liked so much?  That person that felt open and confident, sexy and fun, easy-going and relaxed.?  It’s like playing hide-and-seek with your shadow.  She’s in there somewhere….   

“Olly, olly oxen free!”

I am trying to take deep breaths and know that everything will fall into place sooner or later.  And for my dog’s sake, hopefully sooner rather than later.

The one thing that stays true is the gratitude.  This heart-swelling, chest-expanding thank-FULL-FULL-FULLness for the experience.  I bow my forehead down to the ground, shake my fists at the heavens and clasp my hands in prayer.  Thank-you for the adventure.  Thank you for the journey, for the lessons, the insight, for the food, the friends, the love.  Thank you for the awesome beauty, the largeness of this world, the goodness in all people.  Thank YOU for coming with me.  For your support along the road.

Thank you.

Namaste.  (Because I know now what it means, and when I say it, I do so with truth and love)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 00:32:05

    You and perfect, beautiful, and wonderful, and everything you need and ever will need is right there inside you! Go on, girl!

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 00:47:05

    absolutely lovely, raw, honest, and real 😉

    Reply

  3. The Environmental Goddess
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 08:19:23

    Hi there!

    I really love the way you write and also wanted to encourage you, keep your chin up, I know what you are going through and it’s tough, but also it’s a learning experience and you can find out so much about yourself during this period in your life. At least that is the way I am trying to see it!

    Reply

  4. Fergus Watt
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 19:17:48

    I never read these kindof things… that made me feel much less alone 🙂 Thank you!!!

    Reply

  5. risingontheroad
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 22:59:27

    A lot of what you write sounds very familiar from many of my going homes. Even if some things change you still are profoundly different so don’t worry too much, it will just take a while for the dust to settle and the new old life to start to finds its shape. I am also getting close to the time to go home and work out what comes next so I will watch your next steps with keen interest! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

