Saying Goodbye to Paradise Pie

I flew into Prince Edward Island on a teeny-tiny private plane, over a snow-crusted checkerboard and an ice-flanked sea.  Some five months later, and I just spent my second to last night here sailing into the sunset.  I think it is safe to say that my time here has been one of the most illuminating, enchanted chapters.  You know when you learn something about yourself, when you discover something was missing, but you didn’t even know it was missing until its put back in its place?  When somehow, you just feel fuller, more complete, well-rounded?

I might need to have a tee-shirt made, because I think it’s safe to say, I’m a little bit country and a little bit rock.  Who knew?  I sure didn’t.  I never knew that I find men in big trucks extremely sexy.  Who knew that there is a part of me that could easily see myself deciding one day to just get off the grid, plant a garden, drive a truck and make babies?  To pad around in barefeet, to take long walks and frequent naps and to swim and laugh and play.

There is something that just speaks to my heart about the country:  the simplicity, the community, the neighborly-ness of it all.  And let’s not forget all of that waving.

Somehow, amidst the wide-open sky and the rolling green, I found a missing piece.  With the wide porches and shuttered windows, tractors and trailers and Tom Petty.  It was Bryan Adams’ Summer of ’69.  Back in the day when the American dream was humble, this is what I would’ve imagined wanting:  a little piece of grass to mow, (although, I will say PEI’ers take lawn-mowing to the extreme).  A shade tree and hard work, but not so hard that you can’t enjoy the shade.  (And let’s not kid ourselves in regards to shade;  there wasn’t a sunny day that I didn’t scramble to get to the beach)  A body of water within 15 driving minutes and really good ice cream.

After the yoga festival I came up with a PEI bucket list.  A comprehensive itinerary of must-have island experiences and I have to say, I had an ARMY of facilitators who helped me check them off, one by one.   Along the way, I learned the merits of the new potato.  I know the difference between Ten Mile House and Five Houses.  I know that Richard’s Fish n’ Chips far exceeds Rick’s, especially with the hand-made tartar sauce.  I have been on fishing boats and speed boats, sail boats and float boats, (they were inflatable tubes, actually, with a beer cooler in the center, but I slipped down Dr. Suess Road for a moment)  I lived it all and I felt its pulse.

I learned a lot of things here.  I learned that there is still so much more to learn.  That I still sometimes fall into old patterns, settling for the things that do not serve, but I can laugh at myself now and aspire to keep practicing.  It’s the first time that I’ve seen myself in the closest way to clearly, or in the way I think others see.  Something here brought out the shine.

But perhaps it’s better to be headed back to the city, because this life is distracting.  Beach bum is a role I could slip into all-too easily….”I guess nothing can last forever”….  Anyways, its time.  Time to get strong.  Time to gear up.  Time to keep the eyes on the prize.

And maybe, it might pay off one day.  Maybe one day, I might have a small slice of Paradise Pie.  A lil’ patch o’ green, a country song in my back pocket, freedom in my bones and a big, black truck.

(This was a late post, but sometimes you need to refuse to bend to deadlines.  Sometimes you gotta just live the moment.  And I had to be present for every last minute of an unbelievable last weekend……)  Thank You Moksha Yoga Charlottetown, the c(OM)-Unity of Charlottetown, the beauty of PEI, to my students, and new friends who feel like old ones.  You enchanted me.  And you will be missed. 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CLAUDIA
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 07:57:53

    Sounds like you had a wonderful time!

    Reply

  2. debbie
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 08:00:11

    You finally made me cry with you words, beautifully said. Thanks for reminding me what I can experience and have close to me… Take care, come back soon…

    Reply

  3. Alana
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 09:17:20

    Loved everything about this post. It has been an honour to have met you, been guided through moksha classes by you, to watch you check off that Island bucket list, and to now call you my friend. Until we meet again, safe travels Jen from Montreal xoxo

    Reply

  4. Amy jean
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 09:57:58

    Lovely! Paradise Pie will always be here for you when you need it!

    Reply

  5. Leah Emmott
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 14:35:47

    Where are your adventures taking you next? You’re such an inspiration!

    Reply

  6. Leanne
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 19:21:14

    Awww Jenn you made me cry too… such poignant thoughts! See you sooner rather than later. Montreal students watch out…. here she comes! We miss you already my friend. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

