Go West

Contestant #1
Okay, so it is official.  I am moving to Portland, Oregon.

I am moving to Portland for the blackberries.  Wild and abundant and lip-staining and free.

I am moving to Portland for the proximity to the ocean.  Only 1.5 hours away and my nostrils will be infused with that oyster-fresh saltiness.  Sand.  And I can surf.

I am moving to Portland for the rain.  Well, perhaps not for the rain per se, but the rain means that it is not snowing.  Which means it is not nipple-freezing cold.

I am moving to Portland for the mountains, craggy and looming; grandiose in all their snow-capped glory.  And just far enough out on the horizon, which means I have a choice to experience snow, instead of drowning in it for 8 months out of the year.

But most importantly, I am moving to Portland to live close to my family.  For bike rides with my dad.  Pedicures with my mom.  Teaching my sister how to cook.  For solid time with these people after so many years away.  For Sunday dinners, board games and hand-me-downs; someone to call any time you need a hug or just someone to talk to.

This is a life-changing moment.  You know it is.  A movement towards a direction, a goal, a life designed with intention.  Some life-changing moments alter you without permission.  They were not expected, nor predicted or maybe even, welcome.  But they change you all the same.  Others, you plan for or save for or wait for.  And you know, in that moment, or in the moments leading up to:  that things are going to be different for a while.

It is my belief that every life-changing moment should be celebrated.  And most are.  Some, they even make cards for.  But Hallmark never put a swirly letter around a sentiment that says, “Hey, way to take the reigns and go git ‘em, cowgirl.”

So, I’ve decided to celebrate.  To me, a life-changing moment should be celebrated with adventure.  The first moment I recognized as such was my trip to Brazil for my yoga training.  And so I tacked on three extra months in Central America, just to seal the deal.

There’s adventure out in Portland.  And so, I’m driving.  Cross-Canada.  In a VW Van.  With just enough open road to slowly transition from all that I am moving towards and all that I’m leaving behind.

Truthfully, the van part I have yet to figure out.  I currently spend my days scrolling through Craigslist and Kijiji looking for vans within a reasonable proximity.  (Anyone selling a Westie?) Pick it up in Florida?  Sure, why not?  In the process, I have learned a thing or two about Westies.  Like, avoid the ‘81-84 models, when they were just making the switch from air-cooled to water-cooled.  And holy-schniztels-Batman!, these old Germans can get expensive.

But I’m driving West mid-October, Montreal to Portland, in a van, with my dog.

Good-god, is that ever a cliché?  Or a country song.  So……

Wanna join me???

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Lynn Muttart
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 09:01:47

    I am ever you happy for the next leg of your life journey! Happy, happy, joy and bliss. I know you will make the most of every second!!!!! xoxoxoxoxo

    Reply

  2. risingontheroad
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 12:42:00

    Sounds fantastic. I’ve been trying to readjust to my latest shift and feeling frustrated with myself for being slow – a friend told me ‘the soul rides on horse back so sometimes you have to let it catch up’. Your plan sounds perfect!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

