Big Bang

Memoirs of a Downward Facing Dog

Did you know that the adult human body contains 7 x 1027 atoms and at least 60 detectable traces of chemical elements? I didn’t either, until a particularly stimulating savasana combined with some tinkly music on the stereo had me contemplating the nature of energy. Seriously, who needs drugs when you have savasana?

Are we not just masses of atoms vibrating and orbiting around one another; occasionally sharing electrons for a time, sometimes rebounding off one another in repulsive states too charged to bond, and rarely, if you’re lucky, crashing into each other in spectral displays of light? What is this experience but merely a vibration that pulls you apart and puts you back together again?  In the millimeters of air that existed between my thumb and the thumb of the person next to me, I felt a vast valley of space and energy…palpable and magnetic.

In case it’s been a while since you’ve brushed up on your quantum physics, for an electron to transition between two different states of energy, it must absorb or emit a photon. Even electrons seem to understand that in order to change you must take on something new or ditch something old.

In a matter of weeks I have had to ditch a lot. Basically, the whole script got tossed out the window. Nothing about where I am is anywhere close to where I thought I’d be. And thank god for that because every idea or notion of what I thought was possible or even likely has been completely redefined.

As a result, I am a sponge for newness. For example, I learned a new word: noetic, or that which speaks of a deep, profound truth. I flew home to Portland for a brief week to move into a new home, an empty place that alludes to unwritten chapters. A blank canvas waiting for some color. My ears are filled with new music, laser lightshows dance before my eyes, my mind is brimming with new ideas and, like my toes are wrapped around an electric fence, on every level, I am humming.

We get pulled apart so that we can change. That which dismantles us, also puts us back together. So that what is lost might catapult us into a different frequency; a frenetic opportunity to move forward towards the next level.

It seems that life rarely gives you what you expect, but it almost always gives you what you need.

And that is both noetic and poetic.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ted Grand
    Jul 19, 2014 @ 21:26:20

    Ooooh, I really, really like this one! Beautiful writing, Jen!

    Reply

  2. courtney
    Jul 20, 2014 @ 00:22:46

    Nice one little buddy… I like these reads… you’re a lovely writer with your flowy words… xoxo

    Reply

  3. Jennifer Reed
    Jul 20, 2014 @ 09:52:50

    Thanks for reading, guys!!!

    Reply

  4. Marwan
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 19:37:28

    Loved this one, Jen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

